The Kingdom of Bhutan is nestled in the southern slopes of the eastern Himalayas, and landlocked between the Tibet Region (China) to the north and the Indian states of Sikkim, Bengal, Assam and Arunachal Pradesh to the west and south. It lies between latitudes 26°N and 29°N, and longitudes 88°E and 93°E. The land consists mostly of steep and high mountains crisscrossed by a network of swift rivers, which form deep valleys.

Bhutan has three distinct climatic zones corresponding broadly to the three geographical divisions  such as hot and humid southern belt, cool temperate central zone, and alpine northern region.

Climate: Varies with altitude. Year-round snow in north, heavy monsoon rains in west, drier but temperate central and eastern areas, humid and subtropical in south.